Marvell Newsroom


IEEE Confirms 802.11n Wi-Fi Draft Specification Developed by the Enhanced Wireless Consortium

Santa Clara, California (January 19, 2006) – he IEEE Task Group “N” voted to confirm the proposal for the 802.11n Wi-Fi standard. Submitted by the Joint Proposal team, this specification was developed by the Enhanced Wireless Consortium (EWC) and included several elements developed within the Joint Proposal team. By passing the confirmation vote, this proposal became the first official draft of the 802.11n standard. The draft will now proceed through the IEEE ratification process, which includes letter balloting, comment resolution,  sponsor balloting and final ratification. Full approval of similar specifications have typically taken about a year but the progress is unique to each standard and its associated participants.

The proposed IEEE 802.11n Wi-Fi standard will enable high-performance, next-generation wireless local area networking (WLAN) products. The draft supports speeds of up to 600 Mbps – a significant leap over today’s Wi-Fi networks – and will enable wireless systems to deliver greater range. This will allow wireless products across multiple market segments to support advanced multimedia applications..

The EWC members are: ADT Corp., Advantest, AirLink101, Airoha, Allion, Amit, Ample Communications, Apple, ASUSTeK Computer, Inc., Atheros, Azimuth Systems, BeWAN Systems, Broadcom, Buffalo, Inc., Cisco Systems, Inc., COMSIS, Conexant, CyberTAN, D-Link, Esqube, Gateway, Gemtek, HED, Intel Corporation, Lenovo, Lesswire AG, Linksys, Litepoint, Marvell, MediaTek, Inc., Metalink, Microsoft, Mitsubishi, NETGEAR, NewLogic, NVIDIA, PMC-Sierra, Ralink, Realtek, Sanyo, Sercomm, SiBEAM, Inc., Signalion, Sony Corporation, Sporton, Stellaris Networks, STMicroelectronics, Symbol, Tamosoft, Toshiba, Twinhead, US Robotics, VeriWave, WildPackets, Winbond, Wipro Technologies, Wistron NeWeb, and ZyDas.

Media Contacts:

Atheros – Susan Lansing (408-773-5216,
Broadcom – Henry Rael (949-926-5734,
Conexant – Gwen Carlson (949-483-7363,
Intel – Amy Martin (408-653-6622,
Marvell – Diane Vanasse (408-242-0027,
Metalink – Mor Abraham (+972-9-9605406,
Ralink – Lillian Chiu (408-725-8070,
STMicroelectronics - Michael Markowitz (212-821-8959,
Toshiba - Hiroko Mochida (+81-3-3457-2105,